Welcome to Society Of Petroleum Engineers Aberdeen Section


Ian Phillips, Chairman SPE Aberdeen Section

SPE is the largest individual-member organisation serving managers, engineers, scientists and other professionals worldwide in the upstream oil and gas industry. The Aberdeen Section is one of the largest of the 199 SPE Sections across the world. The section has over 3000 members ranging from drilling and completions engineers to production and operations specialists, HSE practitioners and senior managers. The section also serves over 450 student members from 4 student chapters.

The survival of the North Sea industry depends on effective collaboration, technology innovation and knowledge sharing. To achieve this the focus and ambition for the Section are to provide opportunities for professionals to network, to share experiences, to learn from one another and help them achieve their true potential.

This year our section won the President’s Award for Excellence for the 6th year in a row – the only section to do so ever. This achievement is only possible with the immense input, support and involvement of our members and volunteers. Throughout the year the section organises a series of technical evening meetings, seminars and conferences which cover a wide range of relevant and interesting topics all aimed at meeting the needs of our members. The success of these events enables us to sponsor and support events and initiatives in schools, universities and the wider community with the common goal of inspiring the next generation.

You will find more details about our events and about each committee and the initiatives that they are involved in on their individual web pages. Do please explore these pages – and maybe become inspired to become involved. Your involvement will ensure our Section continues to be one of the most successful and supportive in the world

Kenny McAllister, Chair Programme Committee, receiving SPE President’s Award for Section Excellence from Nathan Meehan, SPE International President, at ATCE 2016.